Dogomania

Clicker training?

Aroura

I've heard about clicker training in the past and never really saw much point in it... well not until today in my psych lab where we were training "Sniffy" the computer rat to push a lever for his food. Before training him to push the lever we trained him to associate a noise with food, so that in shaping the behavior every time he got something right he realised right then and there that what he was doing was good without waiting for the food. So I get it now, it sounds like a really good idea.... so has anyone here had any experience in clicker training before? Any pro's and cons?

I am actually greatful that i never had problems with my pup. She was such a good baby-dog. As for the clicker, i've heard that they work wonders. especially on them working, hearding, and hunting dogs.

[img]http://community.webshots.com/sym/image3/9/92/3/74699203BJBfeD_ph.jpg[/img]

Hi Yes I did do some clicker training with Ellie and she enjoyed it.
I work as a trainee instructor at a training club and occasionally I will teach people how to use the clicker method if they want to learn or if I think it will benefit the dog in question.
I think it's a good tool for some dogs and usually if I recommend it it will be for dogs who find it hard to keep their attention on their owner when training.

Thanks, i don't have any troubles with LILys attention when training, she's very focused. Maybe it could help Tessa with her agiility as well? I was also curious as to whether it worked as a secondary reinforcer alone or whether you have to reward with a treat every time you click it?

[quote name='Aroura']........... I was also curious as to whether it worked as a secondary reinforcer alone or whether you have to reward with a treat every time you click it?[/quote]