Dogomania

why? Why?? WHY?!?!

Horsefeathers!

My dog is pottying in the house. I should...  

1. 1. My dog is pottying in the house. I should...

• * beat him
    • * rub his nose in it
    • * smack my forehead and curse under my breath
    • * yank up all carpet, install tile throughout and have a mop bucket in every room
    • * give up and hope he'll eventually figure it out

Housebreaking... such a simple thing when you've had a gazillion dogs. I have had (and still have) dogs of varying breeds, raised from puppies, adopted as adults, intact, spayed/neutered... yup, I thought I was an old pro. Now we have Perry. That's the Standard Poodle I adopted about three weeks ago. For the first couple of weeks, this dog wouldn't dream of pottying in the house. Prior to rescue, he was in a kennel for three years, so I never expected him to be potty trained. Still, that first couple of weeks, we were so impressed at the way he would trot to the door when he needed to go out. Now, for whatever reason, his logic has turned. He absolutely refuses to potty outside if he can help it. No, he saves it until he comes back IN.