Dogomania

Mixing cooked meat with kibble

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

After extensive trial and error I have settled on Solid Gold kibble for by 1 year old doberman. He does not want to eat just the kibble only. He will eat it if mixed with a small amount of the canned but it is just a bit too much for his system and causes very loose stools. I have recently been buying chicken and beef from the local natural foods store and mixing with the kibble (cooked first) with vitamin supliments. All appears well -his coat is shiny; energy level up significantly; and poops on a regular basis. I've heard that mixing may not be the best since it digests differently. should I go strickly to homemade food? My thinking was to mix the meat protein with the kibble so he gets the best of both.

Your regimen sounds perfectly reasonable to me, and it is working ... However I am no expert. I too would be interested to know what others think of your question, in particular our TDG.

I also feed mainly kibble (Innova EVO) with a small amount of people food ... just a couple of biscuits a day and a taste of whatever we're having for dinner (example a small crust of country bread, a lean slice of chicken breast, a spoonful of ground beef before seasoning...) Sometimes I put these people treats on top of the kibble. Is this wrong? It seems to work for my Buddy.

Fruit digests quicker than carbs and other food sources, but I still put jam on my toast and have a orange or grapefruit with breakfast. I read that its bad for humans to mix fruit with other foods because of the fruit digesting quicker and supposedly causing problems. But, we all do it :wink: