Dogomania

[i]Small[/i] Black Lab ?????

Guest Anonymous

Guest Anonymous

A aqaintance of mine has a dog that is a very small Balck labrador retriever. I am no expert and have only owned 3 labs but I would swear this is a minatur lab. He called the dog a English retiever. I think that is what he said! The dog looked exactly like a lab but was only about 14-18 inches high. Does anyone know anything about this dog?
I have not had a dog since before I was married and had kids. kids are getting old enough now to aprecieat a dog. I really am most interested in having a lab and if this is a way to get a smaller version of the friends I have onwed previosly it would be a match made in heaven. I love labs but sometimes, especialy when traveling the size is a issue. any help and advice is apreciated.
Thanks
Bob S.

Guest Anonymous

There are no such things as miniature labs, but there are a lot of idiots out there that try and fool the public by labeling their pups as miniature this and thats. Sadly to say, your friends pup is either the runt (which is also extremely small to be called a runt), or a pup that didn't develop properly, or a mixed breed. When you are ready to get your own dog, please don't fall for the term "miniature" with some breeds. Do seek out a reputable breeder who does the necessary testing (not just a vet check) for hereditary diseases associated with the breed.

Labs from English lines tend to be a bit shorter than normal labs, one of my neighbors has one that's a bit shorter than Goo, he's probably about 20" tall at the shoulder. You could probably find a medium sized dog that looks/acts like a lab at your local shelter if you looked :wink:

Guest Anonymous