Dogomania

Comparing foods....AGAIN

eggrolyn1223

I went to the pet supply store today and made a list of all the commercial foods and their first ingredients:

Nature's Recipe-Lamb meal
Royal Canin-Dehydrated poultry meat
Purina Pro Plan-Chicken(I wonder if it's real chicken?)
Optima-Chicken meal
Nutro Choice-Dried lamb meat
ANF-Chicken meal
Frisian Dog's Choice-Defatted poultry meal
Science Diet-Corn meal

Someone please tell me which one you think is the best(only from this list)?

Which is better, Nutro, Science Diet (Personally can't stand the stuff), Pro Plan, Iams, Eukanuba? I live in a "town" of 500. I have to drive 40 miles one way to a town of 15,000 to buy dogfood (unless I want to feed the "grocery store" brands), and the above are about the only choices. I have a hard time imagining driving 200 miles round trip(especially in a foot of snow) to go to a bigger town to buy dog food. Especially when I have been feeding Nutro for 20 years.

Guest Anonymous

[quote name='Black GSD']Which is better, Nutro, Science Diet (Personally can't stand the stuff), Pro Plan, Iams, Eukanuba? I live in a "town" of 500. I have to drive 40 miles one way to a town of 15,000 to buy dogfood (unless I want to feed the "grocery store" brands), and the above are about the only choices. I have a hard time imagining driving 200 miles round trip(especially in a foot of snow) to go to a bigger town to buy dog food. Especially when I have been feeding Nutro for 20 years.[/quote]

Are you able to order on line? There are a lot of places that will allow online ordering.

[url]http://www.petfooddirect.com/store/[/url]
Not sure how comparable their prices are.

I would say all of those brands you listed above are not the best. I am NOT an expert, but just went through all of this recently when deciding to get my dogs off of Iams crap. I ended up debating between Wellness and Natural Balance.